Summer’s not over yet! 5 movies to look forward to in August

Although there have been some major movies that have come out already this summer (The Avengers, Prometheus, The Amazing Spider-Man, The Dark Knight Rises) there are still some releases left to see.

In a summer stocked with superheroes, this season’s conclusion comes with a few more unique flicks.

Celeste and Jesse Forever

Synopsis from IMDB:

A divorcing couple tries to maintain their friendship while they both pursue other people.

The minute I heard that Andy Samberg and Rashida Jones were going to be in another movie together, I was definitely on board! Although this one seems like a bit of a downer because of the whole divorce thing, I believe that they will certainly deliver some laughs. This film seems to be a fresh take that will be a nice change of pace for this summer full of blockbusters. Even if they don’t end up getting back together “forever,” they could certainly make an awesome power (friend) couple. It’s kind of reminding me of When Harry Met Sally… in reverse.

*Bonus: Elijah Wood is in this movie, too! I’m always game to see him in something, no matter what.

In select theaters now.

Photo: Sony Pictures Classics

The Bourne Legacy

Synopsis from ComingSoon:

After agent Jason Bourne goes rogue – as seen in the original “Bourne” trilogy – CIA agent Eric Byer (Edward Norton), head of the government’s secret Outcome program which has used a chemical process to create super agents, decides to end that program by killing all the agents in the field. One such agent, Aaron Cross (Jeremy Renner) manages to survive the killing and with the help of biochemist Dr. Marta Shearing (Rachel Weisz) goes on the run from Byers’ agents as he tries to get the chemicals he needs to survive.

Despite the groans surrounding this movie about Matt Damon not reprising his Jason Bourne role, I am still really looking forward to this movie. Don’t get me wrong, I’m obsessed with Matt Damon and I loved the Bourne trilogy, but this addition seems to be natural and true to the character that Damon portrayed.

With many of the same actors returning such as Albert Finney as Dr. Albert Hirsch, Joan Allen as Pamela Landy, and Scott Glenn as Ezra Kramer, I feel like this movie is in good hands as a continuation of the world set in the previous movies, not a complete reboot with a guy trying to be Bourne. Newcomers to the story are Jeremy Renner, Rachel Weisz and Edward Norton, so I definitely feel like they are fully capable of bringing some great acting to the film.

In theaters Aug. 10.

Photo: Universal Studios

The Campaign

Synopsis from IMDB:

In order to gain influence over their North Carolina district, two CEOs seize an opportunity to oust long-term congressman Cam Brady by putting up a rival candidate. Their man: naive Marty Huggins, director of the local Tourism Center.

Again, another dynamic duo of the summer: Will Ferrell and Zach Galifianakis. These two are funny enough on their own, so now that they are pulled together to run against each other for Congress with accents, greatness must surely ensue. As trailers often do, this one definitely spoils some good jokes, but I’m positive they will still get me to laugh when I see this one in theaters.

I’m also looking forward to the other actors in this one, Jason Sudeikis and Dylan McDermott. I feel like I’m watching a Saturday Night Live skit with Sudeikis and Ferrell on screen, so hopefully that’s a good thing! Right now I’m a bit annoyed by the extreme advertising campaign for this movie, but it makes me wonder, isn’t the overexposed nature of the TV ads similar to that of real-life campaigns? That doesn’t seem like a coincidence to me.

In theaters Aug. 10.

Photo: Warner Bros.

The Hunger Games on Blu-ray

Synopsis from IMDB:

In a dystopian future, the totalitarian nation of Panem is divided between 12 districts and the Capitol. Each year two young representatives from each district are selected by lottery to participate in The Hunger Games. Part entertainment, part brutal retribution for a past rebellion, the televised games are broadcast throughout Panem. The 24 participants are forced to eliminate their competitors while the citizens of Panem are required to watch. When 16-year-old Katniss’ young sister, Prim, is selected as District 12’s female representative, Katniss volunteers to take her place. She and her male counterpart Peeta, are pitted against bigger, stronger representatives who have trained for this their whole lives.

Ok, ok, this one is cheating. But still, this is an August release that I am definitely looking forward to! If you haven’t seen The Hunger Games, I’m sure you’re tired of hearing about it. However, it truly is a great story with multiple poignant themes running throughout the movie that are enhanced even more so if you read the book. I definitely recommend you rent this if you haven’t seen it yet, but if you have, go get yourself a copy STAT!

The biggest question is: Do I wait for the Blu-ray release years from now when all four movies (yes, they are splitting Mockingjay into two parts!) are in a ridiculously awesome set? Or do I just go for it, since that will be a few years from now, during that time period I will have watched my copy a LOT of times. These are such choices to which a Potter fan can relate.

Will be released on Blu-ray and DVD Aug. 18.

Photo: Lionsgate

Lawless

Synopsis from IMDB:

The three Bondurant brothers run a bootlegging operation during the depression, up in the mountains of Franklin County, Virginia. Crooked Special Deputy Charles Rakes is after a share of the brothers’ profits. Compounding their troubles, the local competition is elbowing in on their activities. Forrest’s boisterous defiance and Cricket’s knack for moonshine production help the brothers gain a local monopoly. When Forrest is wounded as tension with Rakes escalates, Jack, initially the timid one, must prove his worth against gangster Floyd Banner’s mob, and we see him metamorphose into a cocky exhibitionist in his attempts to woo the off-limits preacher’s daughter, Bertha.

I must admit, this film has been under my radar until recently. I was poking around some movie trailers when this one caught my eye. It really looks like something I could get into! The cast is pretty much what draws me in. I’m no big Shia LaBeouf fan, but the rest of the actors, Tom Hardy, Gary Oldman, Guy Pearce, Jessica Chastain, Mia Wasikowska…need I say more? I think I can handle a little LaBeouf so that I can watch this one.

Period movies tend to be my weakness as well, so Lawless looks like something special in the midst of all of the futuristic movies of late. Some people shy away from period films, but I say, give them a shot! (Pun intended here.)

In theaters Aug. 29.

Photo: The Weinstein Company

Leave a Reply

